Day 3: I Can’t Keep My Eyes Open

This time of year feels like the longest, hardest stretch of the year and the familiar feeling of unblieveable fatigue sets in every single day after work. Every single day this week I have taken a nap after work, telling my husband, “I can’t keep my eyes open, I am going to go lay down for a little bit.” Two hours later, I awake being just as, or even more tired than I was before the nap.

Today was no different. I got home from work 2 hours early because it as a shorted day for us and I was determined to not take a nap. I cleaned the house and then decided to sit down and write my SOL blog… but, as soon as the light from my laptop hit my eyes, I started to feel that tired you can’t ignore. I couldn’t keep my eyes open.

I took the hardest nap and woke up feeling so out of it. It took me an hour just to feel awake and the truth is, I could probably go right back to bed, but I don’t want to. I hate feeling this tired, I feel like the days just pass me by until Spring Break and then I reemerge as a normal human, who isn’t running on empty every single day.

Tired teacher takes on a whole new meaning this time or year! Anybody else feel crazy tired everyday?

Standard

4 thoughts on “Day 3: I Can’t Keep My Eyes Open

  1. I love the title of your blog! I am totally member of Overthinkers Anonymous! I don’t fight naps anymore, I embrace them. A few years ago I found out that biphasic sleeping has existed for generations. So, instead of feeling guilty about it now, I embrace it and celebrate it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s in your DNA! Greeks and Italians nap! My kids nap EVERYDAY! I find them sleeping when I come home at 5, so instead of waking them up, I embrace the quiet, grab my blanket, and close my eyes for an hour or two or three!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment