Day 29: Purging Things, Not Memories

The organizing has begun and it makes me so happy. I reorganized all of the drawers in my bedroom and my entire closet, including shoes. It always amazes me how much I can purge at the turn of each season; it’s so gratifying. 

One thing I’m not great at purging is anything connected to my mom- anything she bought me or for sure anything that is hers, I haven’t been able to get rid of… until today.

Just shy of 20 years ago, I begged my mom for a pair of Steve Madden, gladiator sandals while we were shopping at the Tucson Mall. They were gold and if my memory serves me correctly, it was right when this style of sandal came back into style and I just had to have them. They were $80 and it was a great sell, but she got them for me, even though I surely did not need another pair of sandals. 

I loved those sandals so much and over the years had repaired them several times; repairing the bottom of the sandal, the leather straps, and even spray painting the sole to restore the color due to the wear and tear of so many wears. 

Last season I only wore them once because I was afraid they would break while I was wearing them, so when I unpacked my summer shoes today, and saw them, I knew what I had to do.

I tried to toss them in my bag of items that weren’t able to be donated and then quickly pulled them out. I feel silly even writing this, but I sort of held them for a second and was just appreciative of the memory of my mom buying them for me. 

My mom was great that way- when we really wanted something, she’d make us work a little for it, just to see how badly we’d persist and then, she’d give in and be the hero. I think she lived to see her kids joy and excitement, whether it was for something big or just a little pair of gladiator sandals- it all meant the same to her.

What I’m realizing as I’m writing this is that the sandals, in their physical form, don’t matter, it’s the memory. This little memory is nothing compared to the more meaningful experiences I shared with my mom, but captures a little bit of her fun-loving, generous personality and whether I have the sandals sitting on a shelf or not, those memories are mine forever.

Standard

5 thoughts on “Day 29: Purging Things, Not Memories

  1. What a beautiful post. So true, the memories are there forever. I do love how you took such good care of the shoes and wore them for so many years. That is a tribute to the respect and love you have for your mother.

    Like

  2. Thank you for this!! I was cleaning our office and I have things from my kids that I feel like I should keep but then again I think, “This isn’t going to remind them that I loved them, me telling them and showing them will.” So I threw it out!

    Like

Leave a comment