Day 3: Just to See You Smile

I hadn’t thought about what emotions would bubble up this week as the mandate for masks was dropped at school and was changed to “strongly recommended.” I hadn’t thought about how seeing their little faces light up when I greet them in the morning would give me goosebumps as our smiles  stared back at each other. I hadn’t thought about how their pride-filled smiles would warm my heart as I gave them feedback on their work. Mostly, I hadn’t thought about how much more connected we all feel to one another because we can see each other’s joy, laughter, and love through something as simple and profound as a smile.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Day 3: Just to See You Smile

  1. Sara T. says:

    It’s crazy how I don’t even recognize some kids with their masks off. I didn’t even know one kid had braces until this week! I am soooo happy to be seeing some of their faces again. It’s definitely been too long.

    Like

Leave a comment